Small-Town Elitist

September 5, 2008

Salutations from the Small-Town Elitist!

Filed under: Uncategorized — by smalltownelitist @ 4:44 am

Allow me to introduce myself, and this blog!

My name is Annaleigh, and welcome to Small-Town Elitist. I chose this blog’s name as a reference to the hilarious smear being through around about Barack Obama, that he is an elitist because of the things he believes in, as if no one in Small-Town America could possibly share those beliefs, and as if it wasn’t completely ridiculous that the upper echalons of our society (Republicans) throw the slur around without any sense of their own irony!

Anyway, I am a student and part-time crafty entreprenuer living in the Central Valley of California. I attend Bakersfield College, and am pursuing a degree in History and Anthropology. My passions include reading almost anything of value that I can get my hands on, anti-violence activism, DIY and crafting, learning, music, politics, fashion, you name it.

This blog will mainly center around politics and social justice, from the viewpoint of a small-town elitist, the girl who was a shy loner and more interested in learning than some of the things that are stereotyped as small-town values and interests.

I will blog about this election; about my personal break from “big-f” feminism as a label and search for something more meaningful to be as a multiracial/multiethnic woman of color and a person of faith; about all kinds of activism; about local politics and local issues, including our poverty, unfortunately; human rights; current events; education; Christianity, including the question of gender issues; and finally, for more lighter post fodder, DIY. Add anything else that may be pertinent! đŸ™‚

Another thing worth pointing out, is I am hoping to volunteer in this year’s USA presidential election, and as that hopefully comes to fruition I will be blogging about it here!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

