Small-Town Elitist

September 14, 2008

Civilians killed in Afghanistan and Pakistan; will those of us in America ever really know what this war has cost them?

I wanted to acknowledge that within a recent period of time, within the last 3 weeks or so, there has been a large amount of civilian casualities in both Afghanistan and Pakistan as a result of “airstrikes gone wrong,” so to speak. Most of these causalties appear to have been children.

These are lands that have had so much turmoil, and then we’ve come in and added to the suffering… And our government is so intent on hiding from us the true costs of our involvement/interference in other countries, that I doubt we ourselves will know the true impact of our invading Afghanistan, and Iraq as well.

I don’t have anything to suggest, but I do think that it was important for me to have the people Afghanistan, Pakistan, and Iraq not far in my mind on Thursday as I remembered the attack on our soil…

That’s all I can really say about that…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

