Small-Town Elitist

October 31, 2009

Trying to write a post I don’t want to write…

Well, for days now, I’ve felt a need and an obligation to share my thoughts here about the recent gang rape of a teenage girl in Richmond, California. Specifically, I feel I should write about what seems to especially upset and confuse people right now, the fact this girl was raped and beaten for two hours with spectators watching who did nothing to help the girl, not even call the police.

If you look around this blog, you will see I have some painful personal experience with this terrible phenomenon. But I don’t want to write about it. I am struggling with my own memories everytime the Richmond rape is discussed on TV or a blog I read posts about it.

But I will, eventually. Hopefully today. Keep your eyes peeled. It’ll show up eventually. God give me strength to write some truth…

2 Comments »

  1. Is it worse to light the fire or fan the flame?

    Teen violence is up. Here is another tragic example. October 24, a 15-year-old California girl was sexually assaulted by as many as 10 men and teens outside her high school homecoming dance.

    Should bystanders be held accountable?

    Onlookers apparently did nothing as the high school girl was victimized and surrounded by people who were apparently tolerating what was going on. WHY?

    Those who are uncomfortable speaking up may feel they risk ridicule, retaliation or personal injury by speaking out, leaving or calling the police. Other elements that may prevent bystanders from taking action include fear of disciplinary action, not being believed, fear of seeming less masculine as in the case above, and making the situation worse.

    Silence can be interpreted as acceptance. Bystanders that just stand by and do nothing fan the flame.

    We need to help children become positive bystanders. Help them by giving them resources without putting themselves in danger or looking like a rat or a snitch.

    Comment by Lorrie Sanchez — November 5, 2009 @ 9:55 pm |Reply

  2. I definitely believe that bystanders must be held accountable. People have died as a result of people’s unwillingness to even call the police during a violent crime.

    I do agree that some sort of resource to help them report crimes would be very helpful, and education is important too. Like the Richmond girl, I too was in high school when the crime with bystanders was committed against me, and I believe that perhaps if someone had gotten through to the locals much sooner about the importance of dialing 911 at times like those, I might not have been through the things I had to go through.

    Comment by smalltownelitist — November 10, 2009 @ 11:29 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

